Tourism is one of the key areas of ASEAN’s cooperation since the early establishment of the Association. In 1977, the ASEAN Leaders agreed to establish a Committee on Trade and Tourism, as one of the five permanent Committees under the purview of the ASEAN Economic Ministers. As the structure of the organisation is evolving and as cooperation in tourism sector is also growing and expanding, the ASEAN Leaders agreed to have a standalone sectoral body for managing the tourism sector under the ambit of the Meeting of the ASEAN Tourism Ministers in 1997. The Tourism Ministers from the ASEAN member countries, China, Japan and Korea had their inaugural M-ATM+3 meeting in Yogyakarta, Indonesia on 25 January 2002 during the occasion of the Royal ASEAN Tourism Forum 2002.