The Fourth Meeting of the ASEAN, China, Japan and Korea Tourism Ministers (M-ATM+3) was held on 25 January 2005 in conjunction with the Eighth Meeting of the ASEAN Tourism Ministers and the ASEAN Tourism Forum 2005 (ATF 2005). The Meeting was chaired by H.E. Datuk Dr. Leo Michael Toyad, Minister of Tourism, Malaysia.

The Ministers endorsed the outcome of the Special ASEAN Leaders’ Meeting on Aftermath of Earthquake and Tsunami Disaster held on 6 January 2005 in Jakarta, Indonesia and expressed their full support for the implementation of the recommendations of the Meeting. In particular, the Ministers agreed to undertake concrete measures to encourage the travel into the affected areas and the region, including familiarization trips from China, Japan and Korea to the region. The Ministers welcomed Japan’s introduction of its comprehensive plan to increase the number of Japanese tourists to the disaster-hit areas.

The Ministers welcomed the decisions of the recent ASEAN+3 and ASEAN+1 Summits held 29-30 November 2004 in Vientiane, Lao PDR relating to tourism cooperation and development, in particular, (i) the Plan of Action to Implement the Joint Declaration of ASEAN and China on Strategic Partnership for Peace and Prosperity; (ii) the ASEAN-ROK Joint Declaration on Comprehensive Cooperation Partnership; and (iii) ASEAN-Japan Plan of Action to Implement the Tokyo Declaration for a Dynamic and Enduring ASEAN-Japan Partnership in the New Millennium. The Ministers expressed confidence that strengthening cooperation mechanisms between ASEAN, China, Japan and the Republic of Korea offers greater tourism growth in East Asia.

The Ministers exchanged views on the global tourism situation and recent tourism developments in ASEAN and China, Japan and Korea. The Ministers were pleased to note recent trends in the tourist arrivals between ASEAN with China, Japan, and Korea that the Plus Three Countries have contributed a share of almost 20 per cent of international tourist arrivals in ASEAN in 2004.

The Ministers reviewed the progress made and endorsed the recommendations of the ASEAN, China, Japan and Republic of Korea National Tourism Organisations (NTOs) to intensify cooperation, among others, in Joint Promotion and Marketing; Tourism Investment; and Manpower Development. They expressed satisfaction with the fruitful cooperation in 2004, particularly the participation of China, Japan and Korea in ASEAN Tourism Training and Education Network. The Ministers welcomed the offer by China to host a workshop in May 2005 in Shanghai; effective cooperation programs through the ASEAN-Japan Centre in Tokyo and a strong commitment of the Republic of Korea to further enhance cooperation with ASEAN through the possibility of the establishment of the ASEAN-Tourism Centre. The Ministers took note of Japan’s hosting of ‘Expo 2005 Aichi Japan’ and other events which will increase tourism exchange in the region.

The Ministers welcomed the offer of the Republic of Korea to host the Meeting of ASEAN, China, Japan and Korea NTOs in 2005.


The Meeting was attended by:

(i) H.E. Pehin Dato Abdul Rahman Taib, Minister of Industry and Primary Resources, Brunei Darussalam;
(ii) H.E. Mr. Lay Prohas, Minister of Tourism, Cambodia;
(iii) H.E. Mr. Jero Wacik, Minister of Culture and Tourism, Indonesia;
(iv) H.E. Mr. Somphong Mongkhonvilay, Minister to the Prime Minister’s Office, Chairman of Lao National Tourism Administration, Lao PDR;
(v) H.E. Datuk Dr. Leo Michael Toyad, Minister of Tourism, Malaysia;
(vi) H.E. Brigadier General Thein Zaw, Minister for Ministry of Hotels and Tourism, Myanmar;
(vii) H.E. Mr. Joseph “Ace” H. Durano, Secretary, Philippine Department of Tourism;
(viii) H.E. Dr. Vivian Balakrishnan, Acting Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, and Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry, Singapore;
(ix) H.E. Mr. Krirk-Krai Jirapaet, Vice Minister of Tourism and Sports, Thailand;
(x) H.E. Dr. Pham Tu, Vice-Chairman of Vietnam National Administration of Tourism, Vietnam;
(xi) H.E. Pengiran Dato Mashor Pengiran Ahmad, Deputy Secretary-General of ASEAN;
(xii) H.E. Mr. Sun Gang, Vice Chairman of the National Tourism Administration, China;
(xiii) H.E. Mr. Hayao Hora, Vice-Minister for International Affairs, Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport, Japan; and
(xiv) H.E. Mr. Lim Byoung Soo, Deputy Minister of Culture and Tourism, Korea.