14th AMEM+3, 2017

Joint Ministerial Statement The 14th ASEAN+3 (China, Japan and Korea) Ministers on Energy Meeting

Pasay City, Philippines Flag of the Philippines Coding according to the official "description and specification of the FILIPINO flag" in Executive Order No. 23 from 1936 28 September 2017

1. The 14th ASEAN+3 (China, Japan and Korea) Ministers on Energy Meeting (AMEM+3) was held in Pasay City, the Philippines on 28 September 2017. The Meeting was chaired by Mr. Alfonso G. Cusi, Secretary, Department of Energy of the Philippines and co-chaired by H.E. Mr. Li Fanrong, Deputy Administrator of National Energy Administration (NEA) of China, Mr. Atsushi Taketani, Deputy Commissioner for International Affairs, Agency for Natural Resources and Energy, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI) of Japan; and H.E. Mr. Park Wonjoo, Deputy Minister for Energy and Resource of the Republic of Korea. The Meeting was also attended by the Ministers of Energy of Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

2. The Ministers affirmed the need to achieve energy security with economic efficiency and environmental sustainability. The Ministers recognised the importance of developing high-quality and resilient energy infrastructure, bearing in mind the lifecycle costs, environmental impacts and safety aspects of projects. The Ministers affirmed the importance of ASEAN+3 cooperation towards energy sustainability in the region amidst developments.