1st AMMY+3, 2007

Joint Ministerial Statement of the First ASEAN+3 Ministerial Meeting on Youth, 27 April 2007, Singapore

Singapore 27 April 2007

Singapore, 27 April 2007

“Youth: Creating Our Future Together”

  1. Pursuant to the 7th ASEAN+3 Summit in Bali, Indonesia on 7 October 2003, during which the Leaders of ASEAN+3 countries agreed to promote active involvement of all sectors of society, in particular women, youth, and community groups, the Ministers of ASEAN, the People’s Republic of China, Japan and the Republic of Korea responsible for youth convened the First ASEAN Plus Three Ministerial Meeting on Youth (1st AMMY+3) in Singapore on 27 April 2007. The Meeting was held in conjunction with the Fifth ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on Youth (AMMY V) and was preceded by a Preparatory Senior Officials Meeting on Youth on 25 April 2007.
  2. The Ministers noted that at the 10th ASEAN+3 Summit on 14 January 2007 in Cebu, Philippines, the Leaders of ASEAN+3 countries reaffirmed their commitment to ASEAN+3 cooperation as the main vehicle in achieving the long-term goal of realising an East Asia community.
  3. At this inaugural meeting, the Ministers had a productive exchange of views on developing paths for ASEAN+3 collaboration in the area of youth cooperation.
  4. The Ministers were pleased to note the statements made by the Ministers of China, Japan and the Republic of Korea (ROK), which expressed support for the efforts of the ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on Youth (AMMY) in forging youth cooperation among ASEAN Member Countries in the priority areas of i) ASEAN awareness; ii) civic responsibilities/leadership development; and iii) promoting youth employability. The Ministers agreed to develop ASEAN+3 cooperation in support of these three key priority areas.
  5. The Ministers noted and welcomed the ideas by China, Japan and the ROK to complement the existing activities of ASEAN+3 countries in providing opportunities to develop new collaborative initiatives in youth cooperation.
  6. The Ministers noted the significance of this inaugural AMMY+3 and expressed their commitment towards youth in ASEAN, China, Japan and ROK.  In particular, the Ministers agreed to the following:
    1. to provide youth with opportunities, resources and support to develop self-confident, educated, resourceful and compassionate youth who are able to achieve their full potential and make contributions to their communities;
    2. to promote youth engagement by encouraging youth voice at policy- and decision-making platforms and youth initiation of, participation in and leadership of youth programmes and initiatives;
    3. to underscore the importance of peace, understanding and solidarity in the region and to promote greater understanding, idea exchange and unity through active participation in youth exchange and youth development programmes.
  7. The Ministers agreed to meet in Thailand in 2009 and they look forward to making further progress on the ASEAN+3 initiatives.
  8. The Ministers expressed their appreciation to Singapore for its hospitality as host of the Preparatory Senior Officials Meeting of the 1st AMMY+3 and the 1st AMMY+3.


List of Ministers or their representatives

The Meeting was attended by:

  1. H.E. Pehin Dato Haji Mohammad bin Haji Daud
    Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports
    Brunei Darussalam
  2. H.E Dr Kol Pheng
    Senior Minister and Minister of Education, Youth and Sports
  3. H.E Mdm Zhang Xiaolan
    Vice-President of All-China Youth Federation
  4. H.E Prof. Dr. Toho Cholik Mutohir, PhD
    Secretary to the Minister of State for Youth Affairs and Sports
  5. H.E. Mr Tanimoto Tatsuya
    Parliamentary Secretary, Cabinet Office 
  6. H.E Mdm Choi Young-Hee
    Chairperson of National Youth Commission, Office of the Prime Minister 
    Republic of Korea
  7. H.E Mr Vilayvong Bouddakham
    Deputy Secretary General of Lao People’s Revolutionary Youth Union
    Lao PDR
  8. H.E. Dato’ Liow Tiong Lai 
    Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports
  9. H.E. Brigadier-General Thura Aye Myint
    Minister for Sports and President of the Myanmar Olympic Committee
  10. H.E Mr Richard Alvin M. Nalupta
    Chairman and CEO of National Youth Commision
  11. H.E Dr Vivian Balakrishnan
    Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports,
    Second Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts, and 
    Chairman of National Youth Council
  12. H.E.  Dr Poldej Pinprateep MD.
    Deputy Minister of Social Development and Human Security
  13. H.E Mr Vo Van Thuong
    Chairman of National Committee on Youth
    Viet Nam
  14. Mr. M.C. Abad Jr.
    Director of Bureau for Resources Development
    ASEAN Secretariat