ASEAN Member States undertake cooperation on youth through the ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on Youth (AMMY), established on 8 August 1992 in Jakarta, Indonesia. The ASEAN Senior Officials Meeting on Youth (SOMY) assists the AMMY in the operationalisation of cooperation based on the ASEAN Work Plan on Youth. To promote further youth development in ASEAN, in 2007, the AMMY established a mechanism for cooperation with the Plus Three countries, namely the People’s Republic of China, Japan and the Republic of Korea through the AMMY+3 and SOMY+3.